”Palm Leaves” …. The Return!

29 Mar

After a long (and much-needed hiatus) I’ve finally returned! So much has happened in the month or so that I’ve been gone. I’ve  firmly planted my feet in a new job working with children and families in crisis here in NYC (I’ll elaborate at a later point), completed my biology / genetic midterms for my pre-med coursework (with three classes left to go until the medical school application process), and began the final stages of launching my private play therapy consulting firm. Growth, progress, sacrifice, and insomnia! All this and then some can certainly describe my life at this point. Along these lines, someone recently made a comment about wrapping up a project we were working on and moving on so we could get back to “having a life. ” My reply? “A life?? What’s THAT??” In truth, my reply to him was partly in jest, but ultimately, based in truth. What I’ve come to realize is that in order to make the real tangible changes I hope to see in my life and in the lives of those around me, this hard-nosed diligence is necessary. The task I have charged to myself in attempting to close the health and social gaps in communities of color, is no small feat. But it is my passion. Where I once resented the fact that I always seem to be “on the grind” with limited personal time, I have now have come to realize that in my short professional life, I have accomplished quite a bit. In the end, I now also realize how blessed I am to be on my life path toward saving the world .. uh .. I mean making a small difference; I’m truly grateful : ]).

So all of that said, I’ve returned! Back to sharing my knowledge, tips, experiences, dreams, and health aspirations one post at a time. Keep a lookout in the next three days for my next update.

Thanks for reading everyone!  *Kisses*

~Angela B.

Have something to share? Let's learn from eachother!